My Dream Car: VW Bus

I don’t know why I am so fascinated by old VW Buses. My wife thinks I am crazy for liking that old hippie van. This was my favorite automobile at the Westlake Village Car Show. This is a gorgeous VW Bus, restored to original condition. Pretty much perfection in my eyes, lovingly restored. I can see myself taking long road trips up and down the coast of California in a Bus like this with my wife and son. This would be heaven.

Cool Red VW Bus

I love the pop-out front windshield. The original air conditioner.

Large MTA bus-like steering wheel is almost parallel to the ground just like in a full-sized bus. Spartan dashboard, just a speedometer and fuel gauge. Plenty of front leg room, too.

Love the big shiny chrome “eyelids” on the headlights. Adds personality to the automobile.

Another view of this beauty. Oh well, maybe someday. It costs nothing to dream.

3 responses to “My Dream Car: VW Bus

  1. There are several types of cars I’ve become nostalgic about. Have always associated the classic VW bug with taxis in Mexico. We had the pleasure of seeing the VW factory in Puebla. As funny as it sounds, would like to purchase a cheap Ford Ranger again to travel for road trips. Always imagine my wife and I coasting down the Baja Peninsula. The pictures are stunning! Can’t get over what immaculate condition that van is in.

  2. i LOVE this ride. they are hard to find in good condition. They eyelids are seductive.

  3. I love these pictures! What a beautiful bus! It’s just what I want my next VW project to look like.

    My current project is here http://www.vwshortbus.com. It’s in the shop now..upgrading the sound system, fabricating a new exhaust, adding a rear bumper and a bunch of other stuff.

    That’s what we do here in Michgan during the winter. Work on your cars and wait ’til springtime ;/)

    Take a look and tell me what you think.

Leave a comment