Prayers Needed

I have never made a request like this, until now. A life was taken today. Senselessly. A life ended too short. My heart is broken and filled with sadness. A young boy, in eighth grade, was shot yesterday in a classroom in Oxnard. According to news reports, the victim had long been the victim of school bullies for his failure to “fit in” because of his style of dress and because of his alleged homosexuality.

Yesterday, February 12, 2008, while in the school’s computer lab, a fellow student pulled out a gun and shot Larry in the back of the head and back. I don’t know what happened in that classroom and I don’t want to speculate on motive. All I know is that 2 lives have been lost–the victim and the 14-year old shooter (who sits in jail).

This afternoon, I found out that Larry was declared brain dead from his gunshot wounds (per news reports, he is being kept alive on a ventilator so his organs can be harvested). I closed the door to my office and cried. Larry did not deserve to go out this way. No child deserves to die in this manner. May God rest Larry’s soul. I hope that he now finds the peace that he so desperately sought on this earth. For privacy reasons I cannot disclose the connection, but Larry was not just a random person to me or my family.

With humble respect, I ask that you please pray for Larry’s soul.

RIP Larry. You will not be forgotten.

ABC Channel 7 Video Link.

LA Times Link.

Ventura County Star Link.

Larry King’s photo from the School Yearbook (from KNBC):

Larry King

6 responses to “Prayers Needed

  1. I read about this yesterday when the little boy had not yet been identified. It’s definitely heartbreaking. I’ll keep him and my family in my prayers.

  2. Thank you, Cindylu. I appreciate it.

  3. Prayers will not help. We have to take away the guns and rid ourselves of the self-righteous violence infecting our society, from military invasions to schoolyard bullying.

  4. Our deepest sympathies to you and your family in this trying time. Qué descanse en paz y Díos le bendiga.

  5. Thank you all for your comments and prayers for Larry.

  6. That is so sad. My heart breaks for the families involved.

Leave a Reply

