Maestro, Descansa en Paz

Its a sad day because one of the most beautiful voices has been taken from us. Called home. Maestro Luciano Pavarotti died today, September 6, 2007. Pavarotti canta con el corazón. No hay comparación.

I discovered opera during my college years when I would go to the Music Center in Downtown L.A. and take advantage of the “student rush” tickets for $10. Opera was a brand new world to me. It fascinated and captured me because of its passion and emotion. I had the privilege to attend the Three Tenors Concert in 1994 at Dodger Stadium (as part of the festivities for the World Cup) and it was a legendary night to remember. Singing in Center Field were Maestros Pavarotti, Carreras and Domingo. Un tesoro para los oídos.

The video clip above is the very last performance of that summer night in 1994 in Chavez Ravine. Nessun dorma is an aria from the final act of Giacomo Puccini‘s opera Turandot. It was the signature song of Maestro Pavarotti.

Below is another awesome video clip from Dodger Stadium in 1994. The Ave Maria. Words cannot describe the emotions I feel when I hear that song. I love the Ave Maria so much that I had an Angel sing it at our wedding. I watched this vido clip again and it made me shed a tear. Tu voz vive. Adiós Maestro y que Dios te bendiga. Siempre Cantaras!

Leave a Reply

