Memorial Day

This Memorial Day I’m thinking of my close friend and mentor, CR. Actually, I consider CR a member of my family. We are that close. CR is a veteran of the war in Vietnam. Like many Chicanos of his generation, he was drafted straight out of high school. Although there is no official “draft” anymore, I believe that there is still a “poverty draft”.

CR never really talks about his time in the Vietnam War. However, when I have asked, he has told me various stories of the war, including the absurdities of the war and the profiteering. CR was shot twice on Hamburger Hill and received a Purple Heart. CR came back home and later became a successful business and family man. CR, I am remembering you this Memorial Day, all those who have served, and all those who have made the ultimate sacrifice by having their lives taken on the battlefield.

 

Leave a Reply

