For My Wife

Today, Sunday, May 13, 2007, is Mother’s Day in the US. In Mexico, el Dia de las Madres is celebrated on May 10th, no matter what day of the week it falls on. This is the first Mother’s Day that I can remember in which I have not been able to speak to my mother or visit her in person. The reason for this is because my mother and father are currently in Mexico to take care of some urgent family matters. I miss my mother. Siempre recuerdo a mi mama y la amo mucho, donde quiera que este. Un fuerte abrazo, Mama.

 

Speaking of strong women, yesterday I participated in the Revlon 5K Run/Walk for Women at the L.A. Coliseum. It was my first time participating in this event. I ran in loving memory of two very good people whose life cancer extinguished way too soon. All I can say is that it was a very emotional and moving event. Surrounded by women, I felt their strength, their power, and their pain as we marched through the streets of South Central L.A. Their is strength in numbers and on this day, the resiliency of the human spirit was clearly evident.

 

Lots of powerful images from yesterday’s Revlon 5K Run/Walk moved me, and those images are still running through my mind. You can see some of the same images that I saw, here (best viewed as a slideshow). P.S., the photo above is not me, it is a photo I took at the beginning of the event that illustrates the strength and power of the many women at the event.

 

One of the most poignant and solemn moments of the day for me happened when all the runners/walkers were passing by St. Vincent’s Catholic Church (which is located on the corner of Figueroa Street and Adams Blvd). The Church’s front doors were wide open. As a multitude of runners/walkers entered La Iglesia, the parish priest greeted everyone respectfully. As everyone walked silently through the Church, a recording of music by Mozart was being played, and runners/walkers of all faiths made a silent and respectful procession through the middle of the Church all the way to the altar. Everyone then continued out the door to continue running/walking the 5K. As I exited the Church, Mother Mary was looking down at me and everyone else. It was very spiritual, and I am happy to take this special moment with me in my memory.

 

This Mother’s Day make sure that you tell your mothers and the women in your life that you love them. If you have any stories or comments about the strength of a woman in your life, please feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

