The First Ball

I am thoroughly enjoying all the “FIRSTS” that my son is experiencing. Today after work I went to Target to pick up some Huggies. I went over to the toy section to search for a ball of the right size and texture. I ended up buying a miniature basketball for $4.19.  It was Big Boy’s first ball. When I got home, as I burst through the door and exclaimed “Hi Papa!!!” my son was grinning ear to ear. “Mijo, look what Daddy brought for you. Una pelota.” He got really happy and I couldn’t tell if it was for the ball or for seeing me.  We sat on the floor and played ball for half an hour. Big Boy sat up all by himself without any support, smiling from ear to ear as he tried to stuff the entire mini basketball into his mouth. Of course, Daddy got it on videotape.

5 responses to “The First Ball

  1. Welcome back, kind sir. I’m happy to hear about your son and you. That ball should last him YEARS. Even today, when I am home, my younger brother and I throw a plush ball to each other that we got him when he was an infant in 1998. Since it’s soft, we can’t break anything and throwing the ball hard doesn’t mean a thing.

    I stacked cans as a child. There are a number of pictures of me on the kitchen tile, stacking latas de grano de elote.

  2. I don’t know why that says “Anonymous.” I posted it.

  3. Hola,

    I can’t believe he can already talk! How wonderful that must be…I did stop blogging on Project Dissertation, ventured into facebook, are you there? Saludos desde san francisco

  4. welcome back. Enjoy the firsts!

  5. Gracias! Glad to be back.

Leave a Reply

